Sign up for my mailing list!
Books

Tarnished Are The Stars  cover of fire becomes her Common Bonds

 

Tarnished Are The Stars
Tarnished Are The Stars

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: An illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost — even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic — before the Commissioner ends them first.

 

Praise for Tarnished are the Stars…

“A stunning debut by a brilliant new voice in YA, breaks your heart and fixes it again in all the best ways.” ~Beth Revis, New York Times-bestselling author of Across The Universe

“Tarnished Are The Stars has everything my heart’s been craving: rich world building, gorgeous writing, and a cast of queer characters getting the adventure they deserve. A stunning debut by a talented author who has only just begun.” ~Kass Morgan, New York Times-bestselling author of The 100

“A heart-wrenching tale about found families, tender friendships, and a trio of characters you can’t help but love.” ~Linsey Miller, author of the Mask of Shadows duology

Content Warnings for TATS can be found here.

Fire Becomes Her
Fire Becomes Her

In Rosiee Thor’s lavish fantasy novel with a Jazz Age spark, a politically savvy teen must weigh her desire to climb the social ladder against her heart in a world where magic buys votes.

Flare is power.

With only a drop of flare, one can light the night sky with fireworks . . . or burn a building to the ground — and seventeen-year-old Ingrid Ellis wants her fair share.

Ingrid doesn’t have a family fortune, monetary or magical, but at least she has a plan: Rise to the top on the arm of Linden Holt, heir to a hefty political legacy and the largest fortune of flare in all of Candesce. Her only obstacle is Linden’s father who refuses to acknowledge her.

So when Senator Holt announces his run for president, Ingrid uses the situation to her advantage. She strikes a deal to spy on the senator’s opposition in exchange for his approval and the status she so desperately craves. But the longer Ingrid wears two masks, the more she questions where her true allegiances lie.

Will she stand with the Holts, or will she forge her own path?

Also available in the UK!

 

Praise for Fire Becomes Her

“Ambitious and heartbreaking, Fire Becomes Her flares brightly against the backdrop of speakeasies and political intrigue. Rosiee Thor weaves a lyrical and smoldering story about how the things that burn the brightest are the most beautiful . . . and the deadliest. A must-read for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Libba Bray!” —Ashley Poston, author Among the Beasts & Briars

“This fiery story gripped me from the very first sentence. With gorgeous prose, an endearing group cast, and magic so vivid it crackles on the page, Fire Becomes Her will enchant you. A lush, vibrant fantasy.” Rachel GriffinNew York Times bestselling author of The Nature of Witches

“A candid exploration of wealth and politics, as well as the ways relationships and people bend and form under society’s expectations. Replete with a tightly woven plot, a main character every bit as sharp and eloquent as Thor’s writing, and a glittering Roaring Twenties vibe, this book burns brightly.” —Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow duology 

“Readers will revel in the glitz and allure of Fire Becomes Her. In a world where magic can be bottled and power sipped, Ingrid Ellis is burning with the desire to prove that she is more than a bootlegger’s daughter. Full of political intrigue, a nuanced cast, and a fire-ocious heroine, Rosiee Thor’s sophomore novel is as addictive and beautiful as flare itself.” —Emily Lloyd-Jones, author of The Bone Houses

“A heady blend of intricate politics and addictive fantasy in a world where political power is reserved only for those with magic and old money. A vibrant examination of class and the consequences of privilege, Fire Becomes Her features one of the most satisfying morally gray main characters in years.” —Linsey Miller, author of the Mask of Shadows duology

A lush political fantasy with a delightful cast. The perfect read for anyone who likes watching ambitious girls set things on fire.” —Mara Fitzgerald, author of Beyond the Ruby Veil 

With its exquisitely crafted characters, rich, evocative imagery, and tightly woven plot laced with political intrigue, Fire Becomes Her is both captivating and enthralling. Readers will love Ingrid and this vivid realm of fire and magic.” —Carly Heath, author of The Reckless Kind

“An absolute tour de force. It’s so easy to fall in love with its spitfire protagonist and her ragtag group of friends; Thor’s prose sears directly into your heart. The political underpinnings allow this book to spark, but it’s the queer platonic partnership that makes this book burn brighter than anything else I’ve ever read. So sit back, drink some Flare, and let this set your heart ablaze.” —Cody Roecker, Barnes & Noble Tanasbourne, Hillsboro, OR

“Full of yearning, ambition, and magic abound, Fire Becomes Her is the perfect read for anyone whose young heart was overflowing with many wants. Rosiee Thor brings their signature blend of queer found families, political intrigue, and characters you immediately want to wrap up in a blanket and protect at all costs into another delightful tale about blazing your own path and finding comfort in your chosen spaces.” —Kalie Barnes-Young, Barnes & Noble at the Grove, Los Angeles, CA

“As a bookseller, my absolute favorite thing is handing a book to a kid and being able to say, ‘Here is a book with people like you in it. Here is a book by people like you. Welcome home.’ So when I tell you to drop everything you’re doing and pick up Fire Becomes Her by Rosiee Thor, I need you to understand how big of a priority this book is. It has everything I could ever want out of YA and more: found family, political commentary, snark and sass in spades, and prose that brought me to actual, real tears on multiple occasions. More than that, though, it made me feel seen. I’ve spent so much time over the years wishing to see myself in the stories I consumed, wanting desperately to find characters and authors who think about love and forgiveness and hope the same way I do. This is that book, and these are those characters. I am going to put Fire Becomes Her in as many sets of hands as I possibly can. If you read just one book this year, make it this one. Make it a story that sees you, the way this story sees me.” —Laura Speake, Gibson’s Bookstore, Concord, NH

“Inciting, lyrical, and heartwarming, Rosiee Thor’s sophomore novel brings to life a vivid Jazz Age–inspired world that, while fantastical, is at its political core not so different from our own. A deliciously heart-pounding queer adventure, you won’t be able to keep from falling in love with Ingrid and her patchwork group of friends and joining their fight for equity. Emotionally gripping through the very last page, Fire Becomes Her solidifies Rosiee Thor as a queer YA fantasy powerhouse.” —Quinn Stitt, teen librarian

 

The Meaning of Pride
The Meaning of Pride

A vibrant ode to the culture and achievements of the LGBTQ+ community, The Meaning of Pride, written by Rosiee Thor and illustrated by Sam Kirk, celebrates the beauty, significance, and many dimensions of the concept of Pride as celebrated by millions of people around the world!

Every year in June, we celebrate Pride! But what does Pride mean? And how do you celebrate it?

This inspiring celebration of the LGBTQ+ community throughout history and today shows young readers that there are many ways to show your pride and make a difference.

Whether you want to be an activist or an athlete, a poet or a politician, a designer or a drag queen, you can show your pride just by being you!

Praise for The Meaning of Pride

“A colorful and creative way to introduce young readers to a diverse group of LGBTQ+ figures—from historical activists to contemporary athletes and artists—all woven into an open-ended exploration of what Pride means. I love that this book both honors our history and connects it to the present—it is a wonderful way to open conversations and encourage kids to learn more about LGBTQ+ rights.”
Robin Stevenson, Stonewall Honor winning author of Pride Puppy and Pride: The Celebration and the Struggle

“Thor’s picture book debut is an inclusive celebration of queerness LGBTQ+ readers will delight in finding themselves in, and a joyful jumping-off point for kids learning about the origins, significance, and powerful affirmation of PRIDE. Likewise, Kirk brings the vibrant colors, layers, and bold lines of her mural work to the page with illustrations that beautifully capture the essence of what it means to celebrate pride in all its forms.”
Anika Aldamuy Denise, Pura Belpré Honor winning author of Planting Stories

Common Bonds
Common Bonds

Common Bonds is an anthology of speculative short stories and poetry featuring aromantic characters. At the heart of this collection are the bonds that impact our lives from beginning to end: platonic relationships. Within this anthology, a cursed seamstress finds comfort in the presence of a witch, teams of demon hunters work with their rival to save one of their own, a peculiar scholar gets attached to those he was meant to study, and queerplatonic shopkeepers guide their pupil as they explore their relationship needs and desires. Through nineteen stories and poems, Common Bonds explores the ways platonic relationships enrich our lives.

Contributors include: Morgan Swim, Vida Cruz, Camilla Quinn, Jennifer Lee Rossman, Syl Woo, A. Z. Louise, Cora Ruskin, E. H. Timms, Thomas Leonard Shaw, Jeff Reynolds, Marjorie King, Avi Silver, Ren Oliveira, Mika Stanard, Ian Mahler, Adriana C. Grigore, Rosiee Thor, Polenth Blake.